Autumn Sounds with Duo Chagall Friday 23rd September

Farmleigh Ballroom

As in last year’s series, the names of Schumann and Brahms are brought together in this second concert at the Ballroom. The renowned pianist Lance Coburn partners DUO CHAGALL in Brahms’s magnificent Trio in B major Op.8 (one of chamber music’s jewels) and Ms Williams in his poignant Sonata for Violin and Piano in G major written after the passing of Schumann’s young son Felix. Both Schumann and Brahms revered Baroque master J.S. Bach and often emulated his relentless pursuit of excellence in the art of counterpoint (coherently combining separate lines, or ‘voices’). Schumann was one of the first composers to herald Bach’s Six Suites for solo cello, then confined to the practice room. In his attempt to change this trend, he provided them (and the six similar works for solo violin) with his own piano accompaniments ; the only surviving one for the Suite No.3 in C major will be performed exceptionally this evening by Arun Rao and Lance Coburn.

To apply for FREE tickets please email

Winners will be chosen by lottery & will receive 2 tickets.

The deadline for the ticket lottery is 5pm, Monday 5th September.

Please note that only winners will be notified.

Autumn Sounds with Duo Chagall 2