Autumn Sounds with Duo Chagall Friday 16th September

Farmleigh Ballroom

Fingal’s favourite classical series is back again at Farmleigh, where DUO CHAGALL are delighted to welcome Italian chamber musician and pianist Cecilia Franchini for the third installment of the ‘Schumann cycle’ commenced in 2014. Ms Franchini is the first foreign guest of the series, now in its sixth season; she will partner Gillian Williams in the second Violin Sonata in D minor, a dark, brooding work based on the four-note motif D-A-F-D after the great violinist Ferdinand David - a leading performer from the 1840s and 50s and close friend of Schumann. The charming, childlike Märchenerzählungen (Fairytale Stories) for clarinet, viola (cello) and piano will then feature distinguished clarinettist Conor Shiel for another Autumn Sounds’ ‘premiere’. The concert will end with Schumann’s first Piano Trio Op.63; its final movement, Mit Feuer -‘with fire’ is sure to bring listeners to their feet.

To apply for FREE tickets please email

Winners will be chosen by lottery & will receive 2 tickets.

The deadline for the ticket lottery is 5pm, Monday 5th September at 5.00pm.

Please note that only winners will be notified.

Autumn Sounds with Duo Chagall